But instead

So last week I predicted I’d hear a message that said something about pastors being worth the money people pay them.  I’d agree, and I’d also agree that ministries done by good churches are worthwhile and should be supported by the community.  But that wasn’t what I heard today.

If people really did work like the should, however they are enabled and gifted to work, and if people really did support the ministries of the church, half the government would be out of work as unnecessary.  Imagine a country where there were no foodstamps and no welfare because people were generous and churches took care of people in need.  That of course requires that people be honest, and it also requires that God directs people into places and jobs that they’d be good at and find enjoyable.

Sadly I do not find myself in a job that is enjoyable.  So our pastor said God puts people where God wants them to be in order to be a blessing to someone who is there.  Which means, sucks to be you, Deon.  If only, Deon, you were doing what you were supposed to be doing and setting a godly tone at your workplace, whoever is there to get the blessing that you are from why you are there, firstly you might enjoy your work more and secondly maybe you’d get that blessing you’re waiting on.  Translation, sucks to be you, Deon.  Grand, isn’t it?  I don’t know if it’s possible, but it’s a good dream.

I’d have rather heard the message I predicted I’d hear.  The passage I’m reflecting on is in First Peter chapter 4, I’ve written on it before in the context of the priest speaking negatively about the girl scouts.  It’s because it fits.  And it’s not what the pastor spoke about today, but it is, too.

10 Each of you should use whatever gift you have received to serve others, as faithful stewards of God’s grace in its various forms. 11 If anyone speaks, they should do so as one who speaks the very words of God. If anyone serves, they should do so with the strength God provides, so that in all things God may be praised through Jesus Christ. To him be the glory and the power for ever and ever. Amen.

But no.  Today the message was about people who feel worthless who feel like they are spinning their wheels at life, work, and home.  Sound familiar?  Welcome to the story of my life.

And he said to give all that wheel spinning to God.  And I did.  Today.  And he said to tell people how a relationship with Jesus won’t fix things on earth (Can I get a fuck,yeah?  Oh.  I mean, Amen), but it makes all the difference in eternity.  So, I just did.

Sorry about all the shit.  For a lot of people, this present life on earth sucks.  I’m going to do what I’m capable of to make a positive difference.  Which, for the moment, is…

 

Nothing.

I realized, that for all my training, I’m worthless and useless.  I have nothing to offer you but this truth:  A relationship with Jesus won’t fix things on earth. Fixing things on earth requires that we be honest, and not everyone is honest.  So some people will spend time and effort and money fixing things that don’t really need fixing.  Some people will spend time and effort and money fixing things other people should be fixing.  And some people who aren’t really needy will suck up the welfare other people really need, just taking and not giving. And some people who really are needy will probably go without because others, people who just go around taking, suck.  Like a big fat black hole in space just sucks and never visibly lets anything escape.  This kind of taker, who takes and doesn’t really need it, and whose heart is only thinking of self and what they can get, and doesn’t have a heart of concern for others, is, if it’s possible, even more worthless and useless than I am.

http://mblogthumb4.phinf.naver.net/20130114_63/michzru_1358101570321jBgEA_JPEG/Bruce_Almighty01-52-47.JPG?type=w2
The picture is from Bruce Almighty, the homeless guy showing a sign that reads “Thy Kingdumb Come.”

The kingdumb of heaven is at hand, right here, in this very blog.

That said, I still believe we should do what we can to make a difference, because if enough people give or serve where they see a need, God will make it into enough.  He did it for Elijah and the Widow of Zarephath.  And He, and we, can do it for the widows and orphans we know.  And we should.  The whole emphasis behind the humor and drama of the movie Bruce Almighty was that we should all realize we can be the miracle someone else needs.  I’ll be looking for someplace very tiny where I might be someone’s miracle.  Because for all my words, I’m worthless and useless. But maybe I can make a difference for someone.  So, I’m watching for that person.  We’ll cross paths.  And let’s hope the homeless guy doesn’t have to hold up a sign saying “R Ewe Blind” before I notice.

2 thoughts on “But instead

  1. I would hardly call one who makes others laugh, writes wonderful prose, and has a kind enough heart to be empathetic to the plight of others useless or worthless.
    It’s very useful to and I find your friendship worth more than a platinum spork.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. your compliments are deeply appreciated. maybe someday someone with lots of money and a similar sense of humour and empathy can hire me to write some “wonderful” shit for them “professionally.” That’d be cool. Until I either win the lottery or some other miracle occurs, officially, I hate the world and the power-mongers and just about everybody. With tiny pockets of affection-(like abscesses?) for people I still think are worth praying for. Like you.

      Like

Leave a comment