Love You More and Love You Less

Love You More and Love You Less, 8/25/2016, Deon Mumple

I love you more and love you less than
Anyone else ever can,
I know your little secrets and
The history that you conceal that
I never will tell anyone
The little things that you have done,
But lately it’s so hard because
You never seem to see me try
And you won’t ever let me cry
‘Cause I’m supposed to be a man
And fix the shit that’s all broken
And let you live in an ivory castle.
Shit!

But I don’t have the energy to
Fight that hard, just to win you (again)
I can’t keep up with my own shit.
You want that battle, I just want to quit.

You treat me like I am a slave,
Don’t give a shit like you once gave,
You wanted me to be happy
When your love was a mystery,
I wanted the prize so damned bad
The only girl I’ve ever had,
I still want you, you’re still beauti-
ful, why the fuck don’t you want me?
I want the girl who was my wife,
Puppy love grows into a dog’s life.
You shut me out like a bitch and that’s bull-
Shit!

But I don’t have the energy to
Fight that hard, just to win you (again)
I can’t keep up with my own shit
You want that battle, I just want to quit.

So life happens, heated love fades,
And somehow we both feel betrayed,
But I want what I thought we had back then.
I love you more and love you less.
I really wish we both could win.
Every day we face the stress, in-
stead of wanting me you push away.
We fight our aggressive battles passively.
I don’t want to fight, I just want you happy,

And you’re not really fighting for me, either,
that’s the truth.
It’s almost more depressing than it’s worth,

And I don’t have the energy to
Fight that hard, just to win you (today).
I can’t keep up with my own shit.
You want that battle, I just want to quit.

Shit.

5 thoughts on “Love You More and Love You Less

  1. All life’s burdens can take it’s toll and cause you both to to feel worn down. But, deep inside the love is still is still strong. Communicate with her on how to remove the stress that makes you both want to fight. Tell her you are on the same team, how you play the game depends on if you win or not. It takes both players to win the game of love.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. yeah I was listening to some screamo again, this time it’s My Chemical Romance, and I heard my own poem/song in my head and wrote it down. but you’re right, and this poem did reflect how I feel frequently in spite of how I do love her.

      Like

    1. Thanks for noticing, there was an intentional meter but since it’s intended as a song, I may have bent it an extra syllable sometimes through it. MCR is one of my daughter’s favorite bands. I don’t remember which songs I was listening to, but honestly, her taste in music is great. Except she doesn’t always like stuff on her father’s playlist.~DM

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

