My Appetite Wanders To You

My Appetite Wanders To You, 8/14/2016, Deon Mumple

I found someone to walk through life,
To encourage me, to be my wife,
But we don’t always walk the same
And sometimes my walking is lame,
And sometimes what you want, I don’t
And what I want from you, you won’t,
The menu isn’t quite what I want
I’m starving, pale and thin and gaunt

I limp down the road looking for love in vain,
Never quite finding anything that’s true,
The substitutes don’t make the cut, only the pain
Then my appetite wanders to you.

Mum and Dad seem to love through bitter hate
Thrown together by laughing fate
He took her damaged heart’s pieces
She took his patient diseases
We heard the glorified true love’s tale
Swallowed it hook and line, every detail
You aren’t what’s best for me, I make it work,
I’m not what’s best for you, I’m just a jerk

We walk the road fishing for something more real
Three squares but never a filling meal
Our fairy tale happiness was an offense
In the back of our minds, logic makes no sense
There was something to our mums and dads,
Behind the pretense and rage, something they had-
There must be more, we both certainly know
Because neither one of us really wants to go

We walk down the road hand in hand and lonely,
Each wishing we could be the real thing
I believe, bitterly, you were made just for me
And I for you, in spite of reality’s sting
When I want to stray I feel a hole
’til my appetite wanders to you
It’s a taste I crave deep in my soul
Though my heart doesn’t know what to do

I limp down the road looking for love in vain,
Never quite finding anything that’s true,
The substitutes don’t make the cut, only the pain
Then my appetite wanders to you.

 

4 thoughts on “My Appetite Wanders To You

  1. My big question is…You feel this for her from your soul…is it returned, even remotely?
    May be something you should ask her.
    You seem to try so very hard to no avail. Is it not enough for a reason or is it just never gonna be enough?
    Food for thought.
    Also, my pegacorn is out of energy shot hay thus bitchy…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Sort of metaphorically, I’m an addict. She gives me a fix when I’m desperate, and I want the next one already, and not just the same high, I want a better high. I know there’s a better high to be found, and I know that she being the metaphoric dealer could give me a better product, and that’s the frustration I feel.

    Like

Leave a Reply

