Trophies

Trophies, 07/21/2016, Deon Mumple

I have a trophy case holding my awards,
Shining to remind me that I mattered.
Never popular, I frequently felt like I was ignored
My chipped psyche was just glued together, shattered

What I did never seemed significant,
I tried hard to be what I thought was success
I universally failed and felt like an ant
I couldn’t face the ridicule, the pain, the stress

All the world ever told me
Was “nothing’s all you’ll ever be.”
It left my dreams surrendered, black and blue
All the hopes I’ve given up
All the wishes for true love
Like a light in a dark nightmare, they were you.

So I have a trophy case holding awards
See it?  Look!  It’s there, just on the right.
You are my trophies, the ones I adore,
The ones who encouraged me through my darkest nights.

All the things you said to me
I tried so hard to believe
Though my mind never quite thought they could be true
You helped me get up again,
And every now and then
I’d come back looking for love, and I found you.

I read everything you said
When life left me feeling dead
And I tried so hard to believe you believed you
Every time I felt my doubts,
When my world turned inside out (again)
I’d come back looking for love, and I found you.

I’d come back looking for love, and I found you.

One thought on “Trophies

Leave a Reply

