Reflection

Reflection, 7/13/2016, Deon Mumple

I looked in the mirror and thought I saw me,
Believing I perceived reality,

Then I went to the world to raise my voice,
Make a difference, a positive, helpful choice,
To advocate for those whom I saw were in need,
I worked, asked for help, “Come on, do a good deed.”
Instead the world threw rocks to stone me dead:
Status Quo, nepotism, power, and dread,
Until I was quiet, and they went away.
I got up to try again the next day,

I looked in the mirror to clean off my heart,
Bruised and bitter, I tried to wash the dirty parts

This time even harder, the stones flew at me:
Hatred, mockery, hypocrisy.
Not content just to hurt those I hoped could be free,
They even attacked me personally:
“How dare you, we’re just fine, fix your own life first,
The way we see it, we’re the best, you’re the worst.”
The rocks broke my hope, and even shattered
The dream for my quiet voice to be heard.

I looked in the mirror, nothing looked back at me,
Invisible silence, trapped in captivity.

3 thoughts on “Reflection

  1. Oh sweet Deon, when I was the most broken in my life and tried to commit suicide and my husband didn’t care. I felt lost 2 and a half years ago, no one seemed to be there, certainly not the world. I knew if I left my ex I would be without any material things and very little money. That night I went to bed as my ex lay snoring, and cried out to the Lord please wrap your arms around me and show me you care. As I lay there I started feeling so loved, and so much peace that I’d never felt in my life, it was the most amazing feeling I’ve ever had. I woke up the next morning and had the strength to leave the man who was killing me. I hope you can find the strength to make the changes that will make you feel good about your life again. I have so much faith in you, that I know you will find it. I see a man of character in the mirror.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. It’s important to acknowledge you tried again the next day. You will soon feel free again because life evolves, no two days are ever alike (I know easier said than done). But eventually they will run out of rocks and you’ll still be standing despite them, or possibly because of them. You are brave, keeping getting up with each tomorrow

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

