One Moment, Please

One Moment, Please, 5/6/2016, Deon Mumple

One moment, please, I’m not trying to tease,
But you can have my attention in a minute.
You think that I’m fine, I act all the time,
My favorite place is where I’m alone in it,
So I don’t want to talk, or go for a walk,
Unless the neighbors and their dogs stay well away,
I don’t want to speak, or for them to speak to me,
And seven thousand alone days without the gray
The clear sky is clouded, and I feel surrounded,
Sometimes even when I really am alone
When I hear a telephone I’m pushed to a rage zone,
The only sound a phone should make is silent tones.
If I want to call you, double standard, it’s true,
Then I’ll call you and I’ll keep it quick
And please accept the fact that this isn’t an act,
Certain things you think are normal make me sick
I don’t handle stress well, social settings are hell
When I’m not in control of my own choices
So please don’t call me, I don’t want to be
Selfish or difficult, but I hear enough voices.
They live in my head; I wish they were all dead,
So you can have my attention in a minute,
I’m dealing with others, while nausea smothers
My favorite place is where I’m alone in it.

One thought on “One Moment, Please

Leave a Reply

