Barbed Wire Strings

Barbed Wire Strings, 4/26/2016, Deon Mumple

I write about grit, life’s hard knocks and things,
An unknown country singer, I’m keepin’ rock rolling,
I’m not high enough to know why all the dumb birds sing,
‘Cause I play a guitar with barbed wire strings.

I have to play with care, my fingers hit the frets,
I learned a hard way to play, but that’s what I get,
I need a talent agent, but they haven’t found me yet,
I can’t pick up bad habits, drinking or cigarettes.

There’s a lot of things in life I can’t afford,
I seem to barely get by, I guess I’ll thank the Lord,
I’m not high enough to fly where all the dumb birds sing,
‘Cause I play a guitar with barbed wire strings.

It might be nice to get a guitar that doesn’t scratch,
If I hit the frets wrong, the chords are hard to catch,
It’s hard to get a gig, or a girl who’s a good match,
There’s no place to play where there’s no strings attached.

I can’t get high enough to fly where all the dumb birds sing,
My life’s like playing a guitar with barbed wire strings.

3 thoughts on “Barbed Wire Strings

Leave a Reply

