Happily Ever After

From https://www.randomlists.com/random-words, I’d prefer to think of it as “prompted,” although my inner voice, the unfiltered cynic, says I’m forcing it today.  I chose to use 12 words and then randomly decided to use the words in reverse order.  I made it into a Shakespearean Sonnet, abab cdcd efef gg is the rhyme scheme and I made a sincere effort to do the iambic pentameter 10 syllable rhythm throughout.  I’ll let you be the judge of all that, so without further “ado about nothing,” here are my

 

Random words:

  1. blushing
  2. butter
  3. bake
  4. shock
  5. wealth
  6. guarantee
  7. tree
  8. craven
  9. overjoyed
  10. ball
  11. statement
  12. queen

Happily Ever After (Shakespearean Sonnet), 4/15/2016, Deon Mumple

She is the queen of every dream, my wife,
And I, by statement, have captured her heart,
I asked her, “Will you dance the ball for life
With me?” She made me overjoyed, depart-
ing from the craven man she’d left behind,
And seeing me worthy, under our tree,
With guarantee of romance, ours to find,
A wealth of untapped love she brings to me,
To bear shock, soften bruising from the world,
The bake of sun, the freezing winter cold,
Gazing at butter skin, and hair, soft-curled
And blushing face, flirting until we’re old,
The tree, growing, branches with family,
And she grows older, yet, ever lovely.

Leave a Reply

