Dead Fairy Tale

“Dead Fairy Tale,” 2/22/2016, Deon Mumple
(or, “Happy, Ending”)

There was a time our love seemed bullet proof
Back in misguided years of foolish youth
You looked at me, promises in your eyes
I didn’t know some of them would be lies

I told lies of my own; I didn’t know.
I was an idiot; I had such hope:
Believed your promises would be fulfilled.
My happ’ly ever after has been killed.

When I do try, my disappointment wins,
As if my moods didn’t already spin.
I still and always love you, that’s the truth,
If you wanted me, and I could have you.

I wasn’t what you wanted after all-
Not quite enough charm, handsome, dark, or tall.

4 thoughts on “Dead Fairy Tale

Leave a Reply

