I’m Your Angel

I’m your angel and I’ve come to help your journey on the Earth,
I’m only visiting, to encourage everyone, with love, and peace, and mirth,
I was awkward at first, while I was getting used to living here,
It’s still awkward and it sometimes hurts, just breathing the atmosphere.

I know I can’t stay long, but I don’t know when I’ll have to leave,
And I’m already heartbroken knowing that when I go, you’ll grieve,

I’m your angel, with a note, or a hug, a kiss, a comforting word,
To spend some time, share laughs or tears, or commiserate in the absurd.
Sometimes it’s very hard, even for me, to do what I know is right,
I know I’m not alone in that, it’s good to have friends in the same fight,

I know I can’t stay long, but I don’t know when I’ll have to leave,
And I’m already heartbroken knowing that when I go, you’ll grieve,

I’m your angel, I know secrets, I have to share with you,
Although life’s not something you or I control, every word is true:
God loves His creations more than you or I love anyone,
And wants us to trust in His Son, Jesus, so that when the journey’s done,

I know I can’t stay long, but I don’t know when I’ll have to leave,
But if you know like I know, I know you won’t always grieve:

I don’t really understand all about how He makes us one big family,
But the way I think about it, He adopts us when we believe,
There’s a great big Reunion on the schedule of Heaven’s calendar,
I’m your angel, here to encourage you to join up, fellow traveler.

I’m your angel, and I’m leaving soon, but please know I love you,
And I want to see you at the Reunion after we’re all done passing through.

One thought on “I’m Your Angel

Leave a Reply

