Hidden God

Hidden God, 10/27/2015, Deon Mumple

I’ve hidden my God as I’ve hidden myself,
Profanity, humanity, reversed, tucked away,
As God’s hidden me in cobwebs on His Shelf,
Because it doesn’t matter, whatever I say.

I sit in broken shit, wishing it wasn’t
What I need doesn’t matter, what I want doesn’t count,
Proof “hope deferred makes the heart sick,” doesn’t it?
Now I can only scream at darkness, cry, and doubt,

And although people care, they watch me, helpless,
While I die, slowly, as my faith is vivisected,
By unseen demons’ claws of murderous stress,
My requests for direction are misdirected.

I’ve hidden my God, He’s locked up my spirit,
If I said faithful things, what difference would it make?
I have read the promises, trust, wait for it,
But I’m tired, and a smile would be completely fake.

I look out of my cage and cheer other souls,
Feeling growing self-loathing, watching others succeed,
Bitter roots and bitter fruits assess their tolls,
While I strive to escape, reaching for what I need.

I’ve hidden myself, cursing my fallen soul,
Whether God intervenes or doesn’t on my behalf
Doesn’t really matter, nor my petty goals,
“He thought he believed,” may be my life’s epitaph.

One thought on “Hidden God

Leave a Reply

