Mixed Nut

Mixed Nut, 9/30/2015, Deon Mumple

I am a mixed nut, in an emotional stir, tears, rage, and laughter,
Am I being toasted, fried, or am I being burned?  Unsure,
Heated stress expresses aromatic oils, peppery, searing anger
Most frequently, simply to be left alone is the easiest dream,
Because, forced to interact, all I want to do is scream,
But quietly I’ll lie when asked, masked, “Yes, I’m just fine!”
I dream the deep green softness of her eyes, chilled welcoming wine,
Still in utter disbelief that I am hers and she is mine.
Liars and would-be friends with agendas try to crack my shell,
And quietly I’ll lie, pretending,  sending the message “all is well,”
I am a mixed nut, tossed in with the other nuts and fruits.
We are a beautiful bunch, indulging in flavorful pursuits.

Leave a Reply

