Not Elijah

Not Elijah, 09/25/2015, Deon Mumple

I’ve lost my place. Can I be found?
Discovered, fetched, retrieved?
I once was found, a heeling hound,
I saw, but now I can’t see.

And when I pray I try to say things the right way,
As if saying it right might get an answer
I’m not Elijah but I’ll try to pray again today,
And just maybe the answer will fall like fire.

Where is the grace I used to know,
I trusted, innocent,
I used to know, but maybe I don’t,
It’s not what I thought it meant.

And when I pray I try to say things the right way,
As if saying it right might get an answer
I’m not Elijah but I’ll try to pray again today.
Blind as the people I’m supposed to inspire.

It used to be simplicity,
The childlike faith I held,
But that was not reality,
And evil’s not dispelled.

All that’s left is pained patience and blind hope,
While the flames of hell laugh, licking at my soul,
I rise so slow to fall so fast, to rise so slow.

And when I pray I try to say things the right way,
As if saying it right might get an answer
I’m not Elijah but I’ll try to pray again today.
I’m still waiting in hope, but getting tired.

One thought on “Not Elijah

  1. It is hard waiting for hope when you’ve been beaten down. I have some great quotes left in my comments about hope on my post Hope.
    Waiting is hard for anything, even more so when we constantly ask, beg, plead, barter, and sell our souls-all for not. I think the one place we need to look for hope-inside ourselves ❤

    Like

Leave a Reply

