Your Beast of Burden

Your Beast of Burden, 07/24/2015, Deon Mumple

The ponderous load restricts in every way,
I am forced to carry my burden, march,
I fall and try to drag myself, my chain,
Inertia wages war, breath ragged, parched,

There is no purpose other than to wound,
There is no progress, no diminishing,
I sleep, restless, in my makeshift cocoon,
And wake, pained, weighted, begin laboring,

Some days I dream of freedom from it all,
If death should come and could bring me the key,
I force myself to rise, and again, fall,
Slave to a Master whom I cannot see,

Given a sense of some empowerment…
But no, brute beast, I’m not intelligent.

One thought on “Your Beast of Burden

Leave a Reply

